In McAlester, Oklahoma, being convicted of a sex crime leads to compulsory sex offender registration. Many people find this to be the most onerous part of the sentence.
The Oklahoma State Legislature has determined that sex offenders who commit predatory acts against children and persons as a result of mental illness pose a high risk of re-offending after release from custody. The state has determined that the offender’s right to privacy is less important than the public’s safety. (Okla. Stat. tit. 57 § 581)
Therefore, failure to register as a sex offender in Oklahoma is a crime.
Registration Requirements and Assigned Levels
If you are a convicted sex offender, you must register with the Department of Corrections within three business days of being convicted or receiving a suspended sentence or any probationary term, including a deferred sentence, with local law enforcement within three days of the place that the offender intends to reside, and with the Department of Corrections and with local law enforcement upon moving from that address. (Okla. Stat. tit. 57 § 583)
Oklahoma assigns levels of risk to sex offenders, levels 1 through 3. In determining a risk level, Oklahoma looks solely at the underlying offense.
Level 1 pertains to sex offenses such as assault with intent to commit felony sexual assault, caretaker sexual abuse or sexual exploitation, child endangerment involving sexual abuse, sodomy, indecent exposure, child pornography, and distributing pornography.
Level 2 offenses include solicitation/procuring, including online solicitation, a minor for any obscene purpose, and child prostitution.
Level 3 offenses include child sexual abuse or exploitation, child rape, first or second-degree rape or rape by instrumentation, incest, forcible sodomy, indecent proposals or acts to a child under 16 years of age, sexual battery, kidnapping involving sexual abuse or exploitation, child sex trafficking, or a subsequent sexual crime.
Level 1 offenders must register annually for 15 years, level 2 offenders must register every six months for 25 years, and level 3 offenders must register every 90 days for life. (Okla. Stat. tit. 57 § 583) The rules concerning registering are quite complex.
Penalties for Failure to Register as a Sex Offender in Oklahoma
Registering as a sex offender can limit your ability to live in certain areas, and to work in certain jobs. People often feel shame at the prospect of registering and opt instead to fly under the radar.
However, if you are caught for failing to register, the penalties are severe. The crime is a felony. If convicted of failure to register as a sex offender in Oklahoma, you could spend up to five years in prison and/or pay a fine of up to $5,000.
If you are ordered to comply with GPS tracking and fail to do so, you could end up in jail for a year and/or be required to pay a fine up to $1,000.
Free Consultation: McAlester Criminal Defense Attorney
If you or someone you know has been accused of failure to register as a sex offender in Oklahoma, please contact a McAlester criminal defense attorney to discuss your available legal options.
Consult with an experienced attorney at the Wirth Law Office – McAlester today, by calling 918-302-9656.
If you prefer, you can use the box in the upper right-hand corner of this page to send a question or brief message.